Post Cardiff – week 58 run 60!!!!

Cardiff half blog

Well what a week! work was very very hard and I have been tired all week. This weekend however was amazing. My best friend from school (and her hubby) came to stay after MY not seeing her for 20 odd years! It was so so so lovely to see them! We stayed up late chatting on Friday night then had the loveliest Saturday having a long catch up over breakfast, then lunch with my mam and dad (gorgeous food) and evening tea and Strictly with my lovely sister and her family (again fab food and company)

I was loathe for it to finish but I had to get a reasonable nights sleep which I did manage (thanks for waking me up this morning Sarah!!!)

Sarah and Geoff drove Mam and dad into Cardiff where today my 10k was the Cardiff half marathon! Now that was a mad and a brilliant idea. I met up with all the runners doing the half for Luca. Luca was there, Sian and Mo were there (Mo dressed as one of the five giant hands running for Luca and I met the lovely Nic Rodriguez who has been an ongoing supporter of my challenge. I started the race with the hands and Luca’s lovely Aunt Naz and for the first time in ages actually had a good run (not fast, but good – for me!) I felt really good until around 17 or 18k and then everything began to hurt- hips, knees, feet, everything! I managed to trot on and finished with only one stop to take ofF my undershirt as it was so hot. It was fab to see everyone there at the finish – Mam, Dad, Kerry, Paul, Jorja, Sarah and Geoff. We had a foto taken in front of Luca’s stand and Sarah and Geoff kindly took Mam and Dad home (Dad developed horrid back pain during the run from standing so long but managed to stay the course). Kerry got me to where I needed to be at all the right times and then got me home. Paul carried all my belongings and Jorja was lush as always. Kerry, JG and me had our foto taken with the lovely Colin Jackson after the run, which was quite a highlight – and fairplay to him – he was still smiling despite around 4000 PEOPLE having fotos taken with him!

I am back home, with my kitten, very very painful knees and feet (possibly swollen knees I think) and am staying on this sofa until bedtime.

Rest week next week – I think I may need it!

THANK YOU SO SO MUCH TO MY LOVELY FAMILY, MAM, DAD, KERRY, PAUL AND JORJA GRACE AND ALSO TO SARAH AND GEOFF – TRUE AND LOVELY FRIENDS FOR AN AWESOME WEEKEND XXX

http://www.justgiving.com/DeeClark

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

